Another Thanksgiving Dinner That Couldn’t Be Beat

Happy Thanksgiving, everyone. It got a bit peculiar when I worked through Thursday, then all you people on the other side of the Date Line started wishing me a happy Thanksgiving on Friday, but our big dinner was going to be on Saturday. I’m writing on Sunday, and all is well with the world. I think I’ll just make this a photo-essay, since while I’ve been writing a fair bit, I haven’t been editing or posting. [As a technical note, the site I’m blogging on doesn’t seem to cope well with the 4-second packet delays I’m seeing some times, and goes away when I want it most.]

I volunteered to be a server for the first seating, and remembered all my experiences in Fine Dining from the customer side. In particular, I said, “my pleasure” a lot. I also refolded napkins whenever anyone stood up to get anything. A lot of people took their dishes to the dish pit, like any other day, rather than letting the servers clear. and a good time was had by all.

A selection of cheeses, baked brie, tiger shrimp, and salmon cream cheese.

The galley, set for fine dining.

It’s not always like this.

B.K. is the second-in-command of the USAP. She started as a Dining Assistant, washing up in the dish pit. Chef James Brown: the hardest working man in show business.

Balloon animals!

Yes, steam trays. People served themselves, and liked it.

There are people here who have spent ten Thanksgivings in a row here. This is their chosen family, and there’s no place they’d rather be. Others are away from their loved ones for the first time. I’m happy to be included.

Smoked turkey with gravy, smashed potatoes, sweet potatoes, dressing, both meaty and veg, roasted root vegetables, green bean casserole, and veggie smoked cheddar and mushroom tart.

Well. Fine enough.

Apple, pumpkin, and pecan. And one that was a mix of all three. Don’t ask. It was volunteer labor assembling pies.

Pecan. And that is real whipped cream on top, which we don’t see a lot of.

The day after Thanksgiving is about the same everywhere.

All told, it was a good time and I’m glad to be here. It was fun helping with prep work and serving, and fun sitting down and being served. These are good people, and I hope I can keep in touch with them.

2 responses to “Another Thanksgiving Dinner That Couldn’t Be Beat

Leave a Reply

