Routine

I’ve had a lot of people ask me why I haven’t posted anything for a while. The answer is that my job has actually started, and I’ve fallen into a routine, and there isn’t a lot of time for blogging. The I-did-this-and-then-this-and-then-this postings wouldn’t be very interesting; I have a few of those that if I can recapture the moment I’ll try to set loose. I also have a few subject-oriented posts in the queue, but they are not ready to go.
The routine is, roughly:

  • 6:00 Wake up [this task continues throughout the day]
  • 6:15 Eat Breakfast
  • 7:30 IT Stand-up meeting
  • 7:45 At my desk
  • 12:ish lunch
  • 12:ish-later At my desk
  • 17:30 Leave my desk
  • 17:45 Dinner
  • 19:30 Watch two episodes of Firefly in the lounge with some folks.
  • 21:30 Try to stop waking up.
  • 00:30 Wake up
  • 01:20 Wake up
  • 02:00 Wake up

Well, you get the idea.

Where the Magic Happens

This is where I spend about 54 hours a week these days. I’ve jury rigged a stand-up desk, and I’m trying to befriend the carpenters for something a bit more flashy, but they are pretty busy. Just outside is the Computer Lab, with about 30 public work stations.

Working, eating, and waking up are taking a lot of time. And since you probably have some idea what the other two are about, perhaps I should get into a bit more detail about working. I am the South Pole Help Desk. Mostly that’s about computers, but other strange questions come up. It turns out that I don’t really know much about computers once that statement is contextualized to The South Pole. It’s a heavy PC shop, and I’m pretty ignorant of those. Thank heavens for the rest of the IT folks. They have all been in the South Pole IT group before, and field a lot of the things I can’t. I’m learning a lot from them

Leave a Reply

