You want a medal or something?

Be it enacted by the Senate and House of Representatives of the United States of America in Congress assembled, That each person who serves, or has served, as a member of a United States expedition to Antarctica between January 1, 1946, and a date to be subsequently established by the Secretary of Defense shall be presented a medal with accompanying ribbons and appurtenances, under regulations to be prescribed by the Secretary of Departments under whose cognizance the expedition falls, such regulations to be subject to the approval of the Secretary of Defense. The regulations may include provisions for award to civilian as well as uniformed members and for posthumous awards.

I'm kind of afraid to take it out of the wrapper. Not the kind of thing you find in a Cracker Jacks box.

I’m kind of afraid to take it out of the wrapper. Not the kind of thing you find in a Cracker Jacks box.

After doing a quick calculation, I’m pretty sure that there are about a thousand Olympic medals awarded every four years. That’s not the Winter Games, just I think there are between two and three hundred of these pups given out every year, so it should feel like a big deal. [I see from Wikipedia that there have been 17283 Olympic medals up to the London games of 2012. I have no count of Antarctic Service Medals.]

I knew this was coming, and it’s a nice “thank you” for all those days of 70-degree heating and indoor plumbing. To remind you all, the biggest deprivation was worse coffee than I like and slow Internet. I had a blast and I’d do it again given the chance.

As a civilian I’m not supposed to wear it, which is kind of a bummer. But I’m not sure when I would, and I do get to wear the lapel pin. Of course, I almost never wear anything with a lapel, so I may just have to carry this around in my heart.

Read more about the Antarctic Service Medal.

The post office decided to ignore the Do Not Bend

The post office decided to ignore the Do Not Bend

2 responses to “You want a medal or something?

  1. Wow! This is a wonderful reward! though perhaps insufficient for the (coffee) deprivations! Thanks for letting us know… Can some future dog wear your medal?

Leave a Reply

